Bettina Hansen

photojournalism in musing and pictures

Angola Prison Rodeo

with 5 comments

These are way overdue to be posted. Angola is a prison complex community north of Baton Rouge. They hold a rodeo a couple times a year featuring the prisoners. We went on a great day because it had been pouring for the last two days and it was extremely muddy. It was my second rodeo I had ever shot, so I can’t say I got the best action shots, but I really tried.
They also have arts and crafts for sale, which are incredible. The way I understand it is, the better behavior you have, the more access you have to tools in their workshop. The craftsmanship is amazing and I think, a great way to spend time if you’re locked up for life like these guys. Let’s just say they’re not in there for petty theft or anything – Angola is mostly for lifers.

ten commandments

high five

excited

jesus christ

comingling

on the fence

rodeo

flags 1

flags 2

yowzer

wild ride

inmate poker

monkey on dog action

yikes

Written by bettinahansen

May 19, 2009 at 4:15 am

Posted in bettina hansen

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Whoa! Those photos are awesome! I really liked the expressions on the inmates faces just before the bulls would hit them. I can only imagine. That event is crazy though, I had no idea they did stuff like that for prisoners.

    Amber

    May 19, 2009 at 8:00 am

  2. There is a monkey riding a dog . . . I think I would like Louisiana

    Deanna Dent

    May 19, 2009 at 3:07 pm

  3. Wow. These are incredible. The last one is a fantastic moment. I also love the one with the two guys under the horse and the layering with the flags is really nice too. Your stuff has improved so much in Baton Rouge, I am really jealous!

    Morgan

    May 19, 2009 at 3:07 pm

  4. I love your work. Got a real kick out the monkey riding the dog at the Louisiana rodeo!!

    Benjamin

    October 29, 2009 at 6:08 pm

  5. [...] get to sell their “hobbycrafts”–which is often amazing stuff. This woman took some amazing photos there, one of which is below. Gates open at 9am. Rodeo begins at  2pm. Crafts open until 5pm. [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

