Bettina Hansen

photojournalism in musing and pictures

Vacation Time

leave a comment »

I am flying out to New York tonight to take my first vacation in what seems like a decade. I will try to post while I am there, but will be more focused on the vacationing than the updating.

Today also ends my official run at the Tribune. I thank them profusely for paying me well, treating me well, and giving me lots of assignments. I felt like a part of the staff there, and it really motivated me to work harder. To Brad, Darryl, and Jen, thanks for giving me the help I needed when I asked, and to Tom and Ralph, whose work inspired me to try my best. I will never forget my first… real internship.

Next semester, it’s The State Press with Deanna and the City of Mesa video internship. After graduation, it’s looking like it will be The Republic. I was really hoping to get a Poynter Fellowship for the beginning of summer, but haven’t heard back from them yet. Cross your fingers that they are just slow in processing.

All in all, 2007 has been an amazing year. It wouldn’t have been so amazing if 2006 wasn’t so difficult, so at least something good came out of that disaster of a year. If I can top the astronomical amount of personal growth I have achieved this year, I will be a wise old woman by the next. Cheers to 2007, and happy new year.

Written by bettinahansen

December 28, 2007 at 4:22 pm

Posted in narrative, new year

Leave a Reply

