Bettina Hansen

photojournalism in musing and pictures

La Jolla

with one comment

I arrived in La Jolla Wednesday evening, and Amber and I ventured out to the beach to take some night pictures.
This one is my favorite; lucky for me, I think the guy noticed I was taking his picture, and went to get up from the bench he was sitting on. I caught him in time and like the picture better with him standing up.


I don’t know what to do about the color correcting on this one. I like to see the detail in the waves, but it still feels flat. Maybe I’ll play around with it.

The big dipper. Amber and I sat on the beach for a while both nights I was there.

I set the white balance to custom and used one of our coffee cups as a white card. It turned the sodium vapor street lamps green and the city lights blue. Kind of a cool effect, I guess. Amber took the one of me, below. She is taking a photo class in the spring, I am so proud of her!

The girls noticed this guy sleeping in the coffeehouse we were in, called The Living Room, in La Jolla proper Thursday night. He wandered off into the night with all his luggage right as we were leaving. Kind of an enigmatic character, I guess.Our diet; coffee, coffee, coffee…

Downtown La Jolla is mostly drunk rich people after the sun goes down… so there are a lot of cabs and erratically-driven Escalades on the streets.
On a side note, we got to surf most of the day Thursday. I didn’t bring my camera, but it was a lot of fun. The waves out there were intense. I can’t wait to go back and try again… I have to practice standing up in a single jump. I made it to my knees quite a few times, but my goal is to get stronger arms to paddle out and be able to catch a few standing up next time.

Written by bettinahansen

June 7, 2008 at 5:56 pm

Posted in san diego, vacation

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. yay im commenting on your page! wooo, im doing the Culby wave! haha your pictures are beautiful bettina as always, keep up the work :)

    joesoceanlover

    June 9, 2008 at 4:19 am


Leave a Reply

