Bettina Hansen

photojournalism in musing and pictures

First day at The Republic

with 3 comments

For those of you who missed me mention it a million times, I am a summer Pulliam fellow at the Arizona Republic, which means I get to work akin to what a staffer does there for the next 10 weeks. I have been nervous and dreading and anxious for it to start, and it seems like it will be alright. Effort is key and that has never been my weak point in the past.

Just to put it in writing, my goal for the internship is to break out of the pre-conceived notions I have about what photography should be, and what good stories should be. I think that I sometimes overlook the “easy” shot or the “obvious” story because it feels like cheating. When I see a beautiful scene laid out in front of me, I hesitate to photograph it. Many times I feel that if I wasn’t the first and only one to see it, the photo is just a meaningless snapshot, nothing more.

Also, being a lifetime resident of Phoenix, I look at some topics and think they have just been beaten into the ground, forgetting that the 90% of people who just moved here last fall haven’t seen the stock cactus shots I grew up looking at.

On the nuts and bolts end, I would just like to get faster with deadline and more efficient with editing. Learning to edit video with Avid is going to be a must, as well as getting a better hang on sports, my weakest area.

In short, working myself blind is my ultimate goal for the next ten weeks. Wish me luck, and may the equipment gods have mercy on my gear.

If anyone comes across any good visual story ideas, shoot me an e-mail at bhansen.photo@gmail.com.

Owing to publication rights, I will no longer be posting any of the Arizona Republic photos I take until future notice. Links only, at least until I get it all figured out.

Written by bettinahansen

June 10, 2008 at 8:31 am

Posted in narrative, personal

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. good luck my dear, you’ll be great :)

    joesoceanlover

    June 10, 2008 at 11:38 pm

  2. i’m right with you, partner

    J. Chiou

    June 13, 2008 at 5:28 am

  3. Hey lady, we are exactly in the same boat! I plan to work my ass off at the trib! As far as preconceived notions, I just got done writing about that on my blog. Here’s to us and working our asses off to learn as much as possible! Hopefully there won’t be too much crying involved :). Go red team go!

    ANDREA BLOOM

    June 15, 2008 at 12:24 am


Leave a Reply

