Bettina Hansen

photojournalism in musing and pictures

Death Cab Concert

with one comment

Two concerts in two days, man am I lucky. Today I shot Death Cab for Cutie, my all-time, favorite, wanna-scream-like-a-schoolgirl band. Opening for them was Rogue Wave, who was absolutely amazing. Like Minus the Bear from last night, I have been hearing really good reviews, but hadn’t taken the time to get into them.

Top three favorite new (to me) bands: Menomena (got the cd at the library :), Minus the Bear, and Rogue Wave… if anyone cares, which they don’t.

Anyway, my favorite frames from this concert came from the fans, and my fantasy husband, Ben Gibbard, looking noticeably trimmer and without glasses. I kind of expected it, because there are some lyrics on the new album that hinted at him losing weight, so my chubby, spectacled dream of a life-partner is no longer.

Thanks to Ryan for giving me a heads up about the moon rising. It was great to see you! Adoring fans can find the slideshow on azcentral.com -> entertainment -> music.






Oh, Ben. If Sean from Andrew Jackson Jihad hadn’t told me how nice your girlfriend in real life is, I might be able to live the dream for one more day.

Written by bettinahansen

June 20, 2008 at 8:01 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. sean knows death cab? psh. unfair! your pictures look awesome! i love the one with the moon! really really good! but i think you’ve been spoiling me with these beautiful pictures that come from your awesome camera i get to use…. i tried to take a picture on the plane today and was very annoyed that i could not manually focus on something upclose and leave the back faded. ugh. it was sad and i got annoyed and put the camera away… i hope im not going to be a brazil AND a camera snob!!
    miss you

    joesoceanlover

    June 21, 2008 at 7:20 am


Leave a Reply

