Bettina Hansen

photojournalism in musing and pictures

Portrait day: shy golf kids

with one comment

These kids were so shy- Ken is 14 and Saki is 13, and they are local golf phenoms. It was funny to me that they can’t say two words, but their golf swing is so hard and fast that you swear it could decapitate you with one swipe :) This was the end of a long portrait day for me Sunday!


(monsoon clouds!)




Too much flash? Looking at them now, they look a little hot. Any suggestions? For these, it was so bright I had to shoot at f14, so I didn’t use any light modifiers. It would be nice to have a softbox or umbrella, but I think I would need at least two strobes inside to overpower the sun. Ideas are always welcome!

Written by bettinahansen

June 30, 2008 at 6:17 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I don’t think its to hot. Very close! I think you took it as far as you could. Its my impression that hot is the trend these days. A lot of people are using a beauty dish as their main light source. Not a lot of soft boxes these days. I have been watching lighting techniques for a long time and hot is in. My opinion is hot rim light is OK to a point but if the main light source is over exposed I hate it. To me proper exposure still counts.
    Tip:
    If you want to soften the light bring it close as possible. If you want more contrast in your light move it farther away.
    This is a general rule and may vary under certain conditions ie reflectors umbrellas grids soft boxes and location.

    Brad Armstrong

    July 3, 2008 at 5:47 am


Leave a Reply

