Bettina Hansen

photojournalism in musing and pictures

July Fourth at Tempe Town Lake

with 7 comments

Jason and I sweated it out at Tempe Town Lake for the festival and fireworks show yesterday… I felt like my stuff was okay, but I really want to start working on more complex compositions. I get spoiled with the 70-200 and really want to start working on layering more and establishing a sense of place with more wide shots. I also want to work more on trying to be as transparent as possible and capturing more emotion. I see so many photographers that make beautiful, lyrical frames; that’s my goal for the summer, is to get better at all of the above.


For Mariel :)








Written by bettinahansen

July 5, 2008 at 8:04 pm

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It’s difficult to figure out precisely what you mean in words, but your photos definitely have a different feel to them, and it’s a really good feel.

    Morgan

    July 6, 2008 at 12:00 am

  2. i love the fireworks!! i showed them to everybody here and they all liked them :) but our favorite was the fireworks with the bridge in the background with no people. gorgeous!!! keep up the good work and don’t worry, you’ll reach your goals :)

    joesoceanlover

    July 6, 2008 at 12:36 am

  3. LOL! Oh you know me so well! This is my favorite set of all your pictures – My favorites are of the little boy with the snow cone and the couple watching the fireworks, but they are all really, really good. Congrats on making the front page too! I am so proud of you!

    Mariel Hansen

    July 6, 2008 at 1:57 am

  4. Nice, you brought a tripod!

    Brad Armstrong

    July 6, 2008 at 6:19 am

  5. I know what you mean man. It’s matter of that fraction of a second or the photo is just not THE moment. It’s either just before or after. I think I need to learn to be more aware of what is going on around me and anticipation. I liked how you covered the kids eating snow cones. Great job. You have improved so much it’s unreal. Keep it up. Your growth shows!

    ANDREA BLOOM

    July 7, 2008 at 2:06 am

  6. Pretty fireworks! Great job Bettina!

    Courtney

    July 7, 2008 at 11:31 pm

  7. Great shot of the fireworks.

    rarehero

    July 9, 2008 at 4:09 am


Leave a Reply

