Bettina Hansen

photojournalism in musing and pictures

Grand Ol’ Canyon

with 3 comments

We have been encouraged to independently find photo stories to pursue while at the Republic for the summer. I have been wanting to explore the lives of Somalian refugees in Arizona for a while now, seeing as they live in my East Phoenix neighborhood.

It has been difficult finding a focus for this story. I hope to find it while shooting, because I would rather do more shooting than planning :) Not to sound like a total slacker, but it seems like I am more accurate when I let the story develop while I photograph it, without going in with a bunch of plans and preconceptions.

I would write more but my eyes are closing involuntarily as I type. Goodnight.




Written by bettinahansen

July 9, 2008 at 8:27 am

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. i love it. the first shot is gorgeous. and i want to try eating with bananas!

    joesoceanlover

    July 9, 2008 at 10:01 am

  2. I think it’s wise that you are letting the story evolve on its own. When we have a preconceived notion of how something should be it clouds the reality of the situation. Keeping an open mind with allow a story to develop without personal bias’ interfering. I have a feeling that this will become a very touching story told through your brilliant pictures.

    Mariel Hansen

    July 9, 2008 at 9:12 pm

  3. I serve some of these people every day during my day job, Community Nutrition Worker for the WIC program. I enjoy helping them out. Aside from the occasional language barrier I find my interactions with them most pleasant. I can share more if you’re interested redahe+bettina [at] gmail [dot] com. Use your brain to figure that address out. :)

    rarehero

    July 10, 2008 at 5:53 am


Leave a Reply

