Bettina Hansen

photojournalism in musing and pictures

Photo of the week

with 5 comments

So, I have been really bad about posting the last week, but I have been super busy. I am still editing photos and trying to get bills paid and e-mails replied to, but I thought I would post this one since it is my pride and joy for the week. It ran in a really nice 6-photo spread as the centerpiece of the Mesa Republic Friday. It is the news photo I have been looking for all summer.
Poor guy was a suspect in a robbery that occurred while I was on a ride along Wednesday with Mesa Police, and instead of denying his involvement peacefully, he squared off with the officer and got Tased. The guys standing around him are EMT’s checking him out after the shock. He was innocent of the robbery, but still got charged with aggravated assault on a police officer for acting threatening.

More coming soon!

Written by bettinahansen

July 21, 2008 at 4:08 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice picture, Bettina.

    Ashley Lowery

    July 21, 2008 at 10:22 pm

  2. I’d have to say that guy looks like he just got jolted with a bit of electricity….good moment. I like the fact that the EMT’s are standing around thinkin…”well bob, what do we do with him now?” ha
    Great photo

    Jeffrey Lowman

    July 21, 2008 at 10:43 pm

  3. brilliant. im very proud of you :)

    joesoceanlover

    July 22, 2008 at 3:25 am

  4. I love the lighting…You’ve got the flashlight hitting the subject, but also the red brake light on the cop and the blue light (I’m assuming from the cop car’s flashing lights) illuminating the background. Really cool.

    Ryan A. Ruiz Photography

    July 22, 2008 at 11:08 pm

  5. This is such an amazing shot. The framing, colors and composition are wonderful. Karen & I both picked it as our favorite in your slideshow of the ride along. It is also on my desktop at work. Love, Mom

    Mariel Hansen

    July 23, 2008 at 2:50 am


Leave a Reply

