Bettina Hansen

photojournalism in musing and pictures

Arcadia Bluegrass Jam

with one comment

I miss daily assignments more than anything.  I picked journalism because I thrive on deadline and all I have been lately is chained to my computer.  So here are some shots I took today because I could.

Every Sunday, the coffeehouse closest to my home, Mama Java’s, hosts the Arcadia Bluegrass Jam.  It’s been going on for as long as I can remember living here and I try to catch it as often as I can.  Living in the Arcadia neighborhood has its ups and downs; at times, it seems like the place is filled with phonies (as Holden Caulfield would say) but for the most part people are really genuine and the local joints are amazing.  I am so happy to have landed here four years ago.

Wailing away

Wailing away

Toe tappin'

Toe tappin'

Violin... no, fiddle

Violin... no, fiddle

Square dancin'

Square dancin'

Fortissimo twang

Fortissimo twang

Dancin' inside

Dancin' inside

String breakin'

String breakin'

Sforzando

Sforzando

Buncha hippies

Buncha hippies

Young blood

Young blood

Packin' up

Packin' up

Stickin' around

Stickin' around

Written by bettinahansen

October 27, 2008 at 7:56 am

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. i like the last one the best, and i like that the guy is playing to one customer

    Amber

    October 27, 2008 at 5:39 pm


Leave a Reply

