Bettina Hansen

photojournalism in musing and pictures

Tornado

with 3 comments

Last week there was a tornado that hit just out of Baton Rouge. A 49-year-old woman was sleeping in her house the night it struck – ironically, her bedroom was the only room of the house that was left untouched. This reminds me that tomorrow I will be buying a flashlight for my gear bag, as I almost ran face-first into a downed power line that night. It was the hardest rain I had ever witnessed. In the morning, fellow Chipster Devin Wagner called me to let me know the pictures were on Good Morning America. I tried my hardest, but the rain and crappy camera quality combined to make me want to cry, so I gave it a good half hour and called it a night. Thanks to John and Beth Colvin for driving and making for good conversation. On to the photos. The creepy light is from lightning/ car headlights.

tornado

tornado2

tornado3

tornado4

Written by bettinahansen

April 7, 2009 at 5:53 am

Posted in bettina hansen

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. be careful. i worry about you.

    Amber

    April 7, 2009 at 7:14 am

  2. Congrats on the coverage on Good Morning America . . . looks like a lot of damage

    deannadent

    April 8, 2009 at 4:45 am

  3. Looks like you got some action and take care.

    Grandpa

    April 18, 2009 at 7:59 pm


Leave a Reply

