Bettina Hansen

photojournalism in musing and pictures

Da Swamp

with 3 comments

For all of my desert friends who have never seen a swamp, this one’s for you.

Wednesday night, I went out to Lake Martin near Breaux Bridge to illustrate a story we were doing on some bike trails that were going to be built in the future, and just needed some pretty landscape shots. I got there early to do some walking and try to spot a gator. Near sunset, I walked out to the main drag of the lake, where you can walk out on an embankment and get a clear shot of the sunset behind the trees.

The only downside to shooting in such a pretty location was that one of the local photo clubs came to take in the sunset as well. No sooner had I walked out on the embankment, to look back and see twenty people with cameras on tripods lined up behind me. Deadline’s approaching, and the sun just isn’t setting fast enough. I knew I was just about the get the phone call asking me where my pictures were and I knew my internet didn’t work out there.

So I cut out of there before the light got really, really sweet. I couldn’t help myself though and got back out of the car a half a mile down the road around the lake to try and get a couple with the fiery sky, but the trees just weren’t as well positioned as they were on the embankment. I got my photos in just before deadline, and what did they do? Held the story for the next day.

So I can’t say I’m super proud of these, but at least they’re not taken in an elementary, middle or high school :)

dripping moss

sunlight

flower

getting low

spiderwebs

moss

twins

more moss

gatorgatorgator

Written by bettinahansen

May 23, 2009 at 1:55 am

Posted in bettina hansen

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. GASP! You saw one!! Oh if Melia could see this she would be so jealous right now! Oh my goodness, I am so excited to see a swamp in person! I can’t wait till I get to go gator huntin’ with ya :P

    Amber

    May 23, 2009 at 6:51 am

  2. Shooting into the sun is always difficult but one of my favorite photos was shot into the sun. It was winter time and this huge old and gnarled tree was outlined against the sky and snow and I wanted to picture it, but I would have to shoot into the sun to do so. I positioned my self so the sun was hidden directly behind the tree trunk and shot the picture. The picture was great as the sun outlined the tree but was hidden by the trunk.

    Grandpa

    June 2, 2009 at 6:47 pm

  3. I’m loving these, I would really like to have one blown up to a size that would fit above the fireplace, especially shot #7 or #8.

    mommy dearest, tee hee

    June 3, 2009 at 10:17 pm


Leave a Reply

