Bettina Hansen

photojournalism in musing and pictures

What a year it was

with 5 comments

I know I’ve neglected to post for a while – but here’s a whopping collection of photos for anyone with the interest and patience to click through them all. I spent the morning looking through top ten lists from many talented photojournalism staffs throughout the nation, and I decided to put together a collection of my own.

Click here for part one and here for part two to see a collection of my favorite photos from the most ridiculous year of my life.

Written by bettinahansen

December 27, 2009 at 4:40 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Bettina,

    Absolutely fantastic job! It really seems that you have just exploded into a fantastic photojournalist! I’m so happy that you are following your dream and truly excelling in your gift. Your photos make me want to get back into PJ. Keep it up!

    Jeffrey Lowman

    December 29, 2009 at 12:55 am

  2. Hi Bettina: You may not remember me, but we chatted for a while outside the Family Court at 90 Washington St. in Hartford when you were covering the big divorce case between the former head of UTC and the Swiss(?) countess last summer. I am a research attorney for the judges there and I do nature, wildlife and sports photography on the side. I recall that you were in Hartford for an internship and were looking for a full-time job. It seems the Courant likes your work and has found a way to keep you on in some capacity (I hope you are a full-time employee). I have seen lots of your images in the paper and they are impressive. To have several of your shots make the Courant’s Best of 2009 and Best of the Decade compilations is amazing given the relatively short period of time that you have been with the Courant. I was blown away by your shot of the woman dancing in the peacock blue outfit at some parade or ethnic festival about 4 or 5 months ago. Her expression is priceless. Keep up the good work!!! Gary

    Gary Hamilton

    December 30, 2009 at 12:12 pm

    • Thank you Gary. I do remember you. That was a long, strange week of standing outside the courthouse.

      The Courant lost a shooter to another paper this fall and I was hired in his place. It was a lucky surprise. I’m very grateful to be working with such an excellent staff. Thank you for your kind words and thoughts. Happy New Year, and I’ll see you around.

      bettinahansen

      January 1, 2010 at 10:54 pm

  3. Mariel & I loved your choices of 2009. Yes, there were a few others that I have kept in my file (like the one of you and co-workers almost getting hit by the baseball) but then again I have a sick sense of humor.

    After reading Gary’s comments, I realized I have not viewed the Best Of that he talks of, that’s where I’ll tiptoe tomorrow.

    Keep warm and we are very proud of you and your work.

    mommy dearest

    January 4, 2010 at 9:22 pm

  4. these look fantastic — i know i say this every time i check in on your work, but it continues to amaze & inspire me.

    i hope you’re doing well, much love to you in 2010.

    natasha kolosowsky

    February 10, 2010 at 6:56 pm


Leave a Reply

